The Liminal Series (2009)

by Eva Lee

Imagines nature’s scales, from the minuteness of subatomic particles to the immensity of an expanding universe.

Full Description

"The Liminal Series" consists of: “Liminal Prelude” (1min 23sec); “Renewal” (2min 32sec); “Embedded Shifts” (1min 25sec); “Liminal Division” (2min 52sec); “Renewal Shifts” (2min 58sec); “Recession” (2min 24sec); “Dual Divide” (2min 52sec); “Renewal Dissolve” (2min 55sec); “Recession Flares” (2mn 47sec) Total runtime 24min 52sec.

"...dissolving and rearranging...awesome...hypnotic..." --The New York Times

Made possible in part by the support of The MacDowell Colony and Connecticut Commission on the Arts.

Work metadata

  • Year Created: 2009
  • Submitted to ArtBase: Friday May 1st, 2009
  • Original Url:
  • Work Credits:
    • Eva Lee, Artist/Animator
Want to see more?
Take full advantage of the ArtBase by Becoming a Member
Artist Statement

This series is composed of nine animations created based on the paradigm of evolution. Each successive animation builds upon the complexities of its predecessors, made by compressing, enlarging, and/or embedding previous ones into future ones. I discovered that manipulating digital imagery repeatedly over different generations produced surprising distortions. As I worked on the series I decided it would end when the next animation was distorted to the point of graphic breakdown.

Related works


This artwork has no comments. You should add one!
Leave a Comment